Laboratory of Innovative Technologies

Laboratory of Innovative Technologies

   Educational and Methodological Laboratory of Innovative Technologies was established early in the academic year 2017-2018. It is equipped with the modern EdPro interactive panel with a built-in computer that allows getting online in order to watch videos or use a training simulator.

   Interactive panels are the latest generation of educational equipment. They replaced the projectors and chalk boards. This is a standalone device supported by the Microsoft Windows 10 operating system that makes it possible to use all the software and connect to any hardware running Windows or Android, and a set of installed applications turn this device into an interactive display, a computer and a smartphone. The possibility of wireless connection with smartphones and tablets enables to accompany the learning material with interactive tests, 3D models and Youtube videos, visual effects and animations. A large number of interactive tools allow for effective training sessions and presentations.

Delivering a lecture with the use of the interactive panel

 

  This complex combines the program for a teacher, the website for students’ learning from home, the adapted tablet apps, and the kit of nearly 300 geographical maps and over 1,000 3D presentations. Each teacher has his/her own account and can work in the system remotely, either using content and tutorials already available in the program or creating his/her own lecture notes.

  The difference from a regular presentation consists in the possibility to enlarge, highlight, duplicate separate fragments of a student book or teacher's notes; add interesting links to 3D videos, material from the internet or an exercise in the margin. Modules for test exercises here are gamified: while answering the test, the student is required to play through a short game.

  At the laboratory, classes are conducted for the teachers of the academy on the use of interactive panels in the learning process; the software is reviewed that helps students and teachers create interactive lectures, seminars, laboratory and practical classes, understand how it affects the academic progress and to which extent the teachers are ready to use the mentioned technologies in their work.

Demonstrating the possibilities of the interactive panel

   

    On the initiative of the rector V. Khodakovskyi, in 2017, along with the interactive panel, the academy purchased the MozaBook software. This is the product of the Hungarian company, the distributor of which in Ukraine is the Lviv company EdPro.

The working area of the laboratory

 

   MozaBook is specially designed for the preparation and conduct of classes, and EdPro adapts the software materials in Ukrainian. It is possible to develop special software designed for students of the Maritime Academy, which is planned to be implemented in the future.

Structure of Laboratory of Innovative Technologies

 

The tasks of the laboratory are as follows::

  • Monitor trends and prospects in education both in Ukraine and in the world; create a database of innovative ideas in education.
  • Organize information and analytical search for the latest technologies in e-learning.
  • Prepare proposals for the implementation of the latest innovative developments.
  • Participate in the development of innovation policy of the academy.
  • Introduce perspective and qualitatively improved innovative technologies into the educational process.
  • Implement progressive forms of organization of the educational process and active learning methods.
  • Analyze the educational and innovative activities of the academy and its subdivisions.
  • Develop, organize and control the measures aimed at meeting the requirements of the competency-based approach in terms of ensuring the educational process of the academy.
  • Provide methodological and organizational quality assurance of the cadet / student assessment procedure.
  • Monitor the information presence of the academy in the information and communication environment.
  • Implement e-learning; support the development of courses by teachers of the academy; ensure control of e-learning.
  • Develop guidelines and methodological materials on work with the e-learning website.
  • Provide support and assistance of information processes on the e-learning website.
  • Conduct training of teachers, cadets/students on the use of the e-learning website.
  • Monitor the quality of Internet resources of the academy and its subdivisions, develop proposals for their improvement.
  • Provide consulting and methodological assistance to teachers of the academy on the e-learning system.
  • Control the implementation of e-learning and compliance with the requirements for the organization of education on the website of the academy.
  • Summarize the experience of work of all structural subdivisions on introduction of innovative technologies and quality of training of maritime professionals.
  • Provide information presentation on the results of innovative activities of the academy in the Internet.
  • Create and develop the infrastructure to support innovative activities, contribute to promoting the image of the academy.

  The Center for Independent Assessment of Knowledge of KSMA Cadets has been included into the structure of the laboratory.

   First of all, the services of the laboratory are intended to provide comprehensive support for teachers and motivate them to develop their pedagogical competencies, which include both knowledge of didactic processes and professional practical skills in ICT.

   The range of such services provided by the laboratory is diverse:

  • consultations: competent support of teachers in creating and choosing the optimal concept of classes in the electronic environment, individual support and assistance to teachers;
  • seminars and trainings: theoretical and practical aspects regarding competent use of e-learning technologies and tools. The form of implementation of trainings incorporates online training, which makes them much more effective. In the online mode, the teacher himself/herself creates technologies, tools and features of use of services 2.0 in the virtual environment;

   The laboratory provides information support:

  • an e-course has been created for the teachers;
  • information materials are developed both in electronic and printed form.

 

Infrastructural changes

    For more efficient work, the laboratory cooperates with other structural subdivisions, which creates a single information space and provides an opportunity to promote and spread interest in the implementation of the latest information technologies. The consequence of this is the strengthening of internal cooperation at the academy, which results in increasing the performance of the institution.

 

   The space of the laboratory is oganized in the Makerspace format – a world format of creative workshops: a place to implement ideas, conduct experiments, study, apply in practice and improve new skills; and it is here that just simply interesting communication on technological and scientific topics and the birth of new ideas occur. MakerSpace is a place where you can find like-minded people, get help and teach others.

    Public spaces for makers are called makerspaces, as well as hackerspaces, fab labs, and so on. Teachers have the opportunity to come here to use special equipment, which is rather expensive for one person or quite specific in its characteristics. For example, there are an interactive panel and virtual reality glasses in the laboratory of the academy.

    Re-designing of classrooms is a trend that contributes to the introduction of educational technologies in higher education (Horizon-2016 report). Spaces in educational institutions are redesigned in such a way as to ensure maximum mobility, flexibility and the possibility of using technical means in teaching. Modernization of wireless networks allows to hold web conferences and use other methods of remote communication inside the work groups. The installation of large screens and displays makes it possible to work on digital projects and presentations and provides an interdisciplinary approach to problem solving.

The laboratory layout

 

  A spacious hall for events with a large number of participants (up to 30 people at a time) is a mandatory part of the Makerspace format. This testifies to the openness of the space and the possibility of free access for all visitors.

  Teaching the principles of work with Web 2.0 technologies by means of a modern multiboard and 3D glasses as well as the basics of e-learning are the subject of educational activities that are planned to be conducted at the laboratory of the academy.

  The educational and methodological materials and guidelines for teaching, scientific teaching and administration staff have been prepared.

   Thus, the tasks of the Yerevan Communiqué of 2015 are fulfilled, which highlight the necessity to stimulate quality teaching and create conditions for improving teachers’ didactic competencies.

  Improving the quality and relevance of learning and teaching is the main mission of the European Higher Education Area.

  Active involvement of students as full members of the academic community in the development of curricula and improvement of the training quality is the key to using all the benefits of digital technologies for learning and teaching.

Лаборатория инновационных технологий и мониторинга качества знаний

Лаборатория инновационных технологий и мониторинга качества знаний

   Учебно-методическая лаборатория инновационных технологий создана в начале 2017-2018 учебного года. Она оснащена современной интерактивной панелью «EdPro» со встроенным компьютером, который позволяет выйти в интернет и посмотреть видео или воспользоваться учебным симулятором.

   Интерактивные панели являются последним поколением оборудования в области обучения. Они пришли на смену проекторам и меловым доскам. Это самостоятельный девайс, в котором настроена операционная система Microsoft Windows10, что позволяет использовать все программное обеспечение и соединяться с любыми устройствами под управлением Windows или Android, а набор установленных приложений, разработанных специально для панели, превращают это устройство в интерактивный дисплей, компьютер и смартфон. Возможность беспроводного подключения ко смартфонам и планшетам позволяет сопровождать учебный материал интерактивными тестами, 3D-моделями и видео с Youtube, визуальными эффектами и анимациями. Большое количество интерактивных инструментов позволяет эффективно проводить учебные занятия и презентации.

Проведение лекции с применением интерактивной панели

 

  Этот комплекс объединяет в себе программу для учителя, сайт домашнего обучения учащихся, адаптированные приложения для планшета, набор с примерно 300 географическими картами и более тысячей 3D-презентаций. Каждый преподаватель имеет свой аккаунт и может работать в системе дистанционно, использовать уже имеющийся в программе контент и учебники, создавать собственный конспект лекции.

  Это отличается от обычной презентации тем, что позволяет увеличивать, выделять, дублировать отдельные фрагменты учебника или учительского конспекта, добавлять на полях интересные ссылки на 3D видео материалы из интернета или упражнение. Модули для упражнений-тестов здесь созданы в игровой форме. Отвечая на тест, ученик проходит небольшую игру.

  В лаборатории проходят занятия с преподавателями академии по использованию в учебном процессе интерактивных панелей, рассматривается программное обеспечение, которое помогает студентам и преподавателям создавать интерактивные лекции, семинарские, лабораторные и практические занятия, понять, как это влияет на успешность и насколько сами преподаватели готовы использовать технологии в работе.

Демонстрация возможностей интерактивной панели

   

    По инициативе ректора Ходаковского В.Ф. в 2017 году академия приобрела вместе с панелью и программное обеспечение MozaBook. Это продукт венгерской фирмы, дистрибьютором которого в Украине является львовская компания EdPro.

Рабочая зона лаборатории

 

   MozaBook специально разработан для подготовки и проведения занятий, а EdPro адаптирует материалы программы на украинском языке. Существует возможность разработки специального программного обеспечения, предназначенного именно для студентов морской академии, что и есть в планах на будущее.

Структура Лаборатории инновационных технологий

 

Задачи лаборатории:

  • Осуществление мониторинга тенденций и перспектив в области образования как в Украине, так и в мире, создание банка данных инновационных идей в области образования.
  • Организация информационно-аналитического поиска новейших технологий по электронному обучению.
  • Подготовка предложений по внедрению новейших инновационных разработок.
  • Участие в разработке инновационной политики академии.
  • Введение в образовательный процесс перспективных и качественно усовершенствованных инновационных технологий.
  • Внедрение прогрессивных форм организации образовательного процесса и активных методов обучения.
  • Анализ учебно-инновационной деятельности академии и подразделений.
  • Разработка, организация и контроль мероприятий, направленных на выполнение требований компетентностного подхода в части обеспечения образовательного процесса академии.
  • Методическое и организационное обеспечение качества процедуры оценки курсантов / студентов.
  • Мониторинг информационного присутствия академии в информационно-коммуникационной среде.
  • Внедрение электронного обучения, поддержка разработки курсов преподавателями академии, обеспечение контроля электронного обучения.
  • Разработка инструкций, методических материалов по работе с сайтом электронного обучения.
  • Осуществление поддержки и сопровождения информационных процессов на сайте электронного обучения.
  • Проведение обучения преподавателей, курсантов / студентов пользованию сайтом электронного обучения.
  • Мониторинг качества Интернет-ресурсов академии и подразделений, разработка предложений по их совершенствованию.
  • Оказание консультационной и методической помощи преподавателям академии в системе электронного обучения.
  • Контроль за внедрением электронного обучения, соблюдением требований к организации обучения на сайте академии.
  • Обобщение опыта работы всех структурных подразделений по внедрению инновационных технологий и качества подготовки морских специалистов.
  • Информационное представление результатов инновационной деятельности академии в сети Интернет.
  • Создание и развитие инфраструктуры поддержки инновационной деятельности, содействие повышению имиджа академии.

  В структуру лаборатории введен Центр независимого оценивания знаний курсантов ХГМА.

   В первую очередь услуги лаборатории должны реализовывать разностороннюю поддержку и мотивацию преподавателей по развитию их педагогических компетенций, которые сочетают в себе как знания дидактических процессов, так и навыки профессионального использования ИКТ.

   Спектр таких услуг, которые предоставляет лаборатория, разнообразен:

  • консультации: компетентная поддержка преподавателей при создании и выборе оптимальной концепции занятия в электронной среде, индивидуальная поддержка и сопровождение преподавателей;
  • семинары и тренинги: теоретические и практические моменты компетентного использования технологий и инструментов электронного обучения. Форма реализации тренингов сочетает онлайн обучения, делает их эффективность значительно выше. В онлайн режиме преподаватель непосредственно сам создает технологии, инструменты и особенности использования в виртуальной среде сервисов 2.0;

   Лаборатория осуществляет  информационную поддержку:

  • для преподавателей создан электронный курс;
  • разрабатываются информационные материалы, как в электронной форме, так и в печатной.

 

Инфраструктурные изменения

   Для более эффективной работы лаборатория сотрудничает с другими структурными подразделениями, создает единое информационное пространство и дает возможность популяризации и распространению интереса к внедрению новейших информационных технологий. Следствием этого является укрепление внутреннего сотрудничества в академии, и как следствие, повышение эффективности работы.

    Пространство лаборатории выполнено в формате Мейкерспейс (Makerspace) - мировой формат креативных пространств-мастерских. Место для воплощения идей, проведения экспериментов, изучения, применения на практике и совершенствования новых навыков. А также просто интересного общения на технологические и научные темы и рождения новых идей. MakerSpace - это место, где можно найти единомышленников, получить помощь и научить других.

    Публичные пространства для мейкеров называются мейкерспейсамы, а также хакерспейсамы, фаблабамы им так далее. Сюда могут приходить преподаватели, чтобы воспользоваться специальным оборудованием, которое дорого стоит для одного человека, или является достаточно специфическим по своим характеристикам. Так, например, в лаборатории академии установлена интерактивная панель, имеются очки виртуальной реальности.

    Перепланировка учебных аудиторий является тенденцией, способствует внедрению в высшем учебном заведении образовательных технологий (отчет Горизонт-2016). Пространства в образовательных учреждениях перепланируются таким образом, чтобы максимально обеспечить мобильность, гибкость и возможность использования технических средств в обучении. Модернизация беспроводных сетей позволяет проводить веб-конференции, а также использовать другие методы удаленной коммуникации внутри рабочих групп. Установка больших экранов и дисплеев делает возможной работу над цифровыми проектами и презентациями, обеспечивает междисциплинарный подход к решению проблем.

План-схема лаборатории

 

  Просторный зал для мероприятий с участием большого количества людей (до 30 одновременно) является обязательной частью формата мейкерспейс. Это свидетельствует об открытости пространства и обеспечивает возможность свободного доступа всех желающих.

  Обучение работе с технологиями Web 2.0. на современном мультиборде, в 3D очках, основам электронного обучения – это тематика образовательных мероприятий, которые запланированы для проведения в лаборатории академии.

  Подготовлены учебно-методические материалы и рекомендации для педагогических, научно-педагогических и управленческих кадров.

  Тем самым, выполняются задачи Ереванского коммюнике 2015, которое указывает, что необходимо стимулировать качественное преподавание, создавать условия для совершенствования дидактических компетенций у преподавателей.

  Повышение качества и актуальности обучения и преподавания является главной миссией Европейского пространства высшего образования.

  Активное привлечение студентов, как полноправных членов академического сообщества, к разработке учебных программ и повышение качества подготовки - является залогом использования всех преимуществ цифровых технологий для обучения и преподавания.